CITY OF WOLVERHAMPTON C O U N C I L

# Meeting of the Council Minutes - 13 September 2023

## Attendance

Mayor Deputy Mayor Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre (Lab) Cllr Linda Leach (Lab)

### Labour

Cllr Obaida Ahmed Cllr Qaiser Azeem Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Ciaran Brackenridge Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Chris Burden Cllr Chris Burden Cllr Jenny Cockayne Cllr Jenny Cockayne Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Jacqui Coogan Cllr Lovinyer Daley Cllr Claire Darke Cllr Jasbinder Dehar Cllr Steve Evans

#### Conservative

Cllr Simon Bennett Cllr Jonathan Crofts Cllr Wendy Dalton Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Stephanie Haynes Cllr Sohail Khan

#### Employees

Tim Johnson Mark Taylor David Pattison Emma Bennett Charlotte Johns Laura Phillips Cllr Val Evans Cllr Jane Francis Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr Sally Green Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Jeszemma Howl Cllr Carol Hyatt Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Jaspreet Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Rashpal Kaur Cllr Lamina Lloyd Cllr Barbara McGarrity QN Cllr Louise Miles Cllr Rohit Mistry Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE Cllr Zee Russell Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Harbinder Singh Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Iqra Tahir Cllr Gillian Wildman

Cllr Bob Maddox Cllr Andrew McNeil Cllr Udey Singh Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Ellis Turrell

Chief Executive Deputy Chief Executive Chief Operating Officer Executive Director of Families Director of Strategy Deputy Director of People and Change

The proceedings opened with Prayers

#### Item No. Title

#### 1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Paul Appleby, Councillor Alan Butt, Councillor Asha Mattu and Councillor Paul Singh.

#### 2 **Declarations of interest**

There were no declarations of interest made.

#### 3 Minutes of previous meeting

The Mayor proposed, the Deputy Mayor seconded, and it was resolved:

That the minutes of the previous meeting, held on 19 July 2023, be agreed as a correct record and signed accordingly by the Mayor.

#### 4 Election of the Leader of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor Steve Evans, seconded by Councillor Philip Bateman, that Councillor Stephen Simkins be elected as Leader of the Council on a four year term.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Stephen Simkins be elected as Leader of the Council for a four year term till from September 2023 - May 2027.

#### 5 Director of Children's Services Appointment

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins, presented the report on Director of Children's Services Appointment for approval.

The report sought endorsement for a twelve month secondment for the appointment of the Director of Children's Services post.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins proposed the recommendation and the Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Education, Councillor Chris Burden seconded the recommendation. They both placed on record their thanks to the Executive Director of Families, Emma Bennett for her service to the Council and delivering on key council priorities.

The report was debated by Council. Councillor Stephen Simkins replied to the debate.

#### Resolved:

That the 12 months secondment appointment for the Director of Children's post with effect from 7 September 2023, as per the recommendation of the Special Appointments Committee held on 17 August 2023 be endorsed.